studies

Some more studies, trying to keep loose and think about shapes and brushwork. I’ve been working hard to try and add more of that fresh-paint feel to my work with varying degrees of success. There are many old habits that need to be broken, but I think I’m on the right track. So far the biggest lesson is that the key to the ‘spontaneous’ look is slowing way down. getting the right mark in the right spot takes time….very hard for someone like me with no patience.

studietime06

studietime05

studietime04

3 responses to “studies

  1. its ironic but I think I get what you’re trying to say, thoughtlessly i would have said a spontaneous feel to a painting should be attributed with speed, but you saying slowing down could achieve spontaneity has got me thinking.

  2. They’re excellent! The handling of the green in the middle image is especially well done. They have a great feeling of atmosphere. Great stuff, ive always thought your work was amazing.

Leave a Reply

