go play outside

I brought the laptop out on the town this morning to try some plein air painting. I’m no expert at painting landscapes, and right away when your outdoors you’re overwhelmed by stuff to paint. You really have to just relax and start simplifying shapes…and try not to get a sunburn. I found painting from live models helped my character art a lot, so I’m hoping continued plein air studies will do the same for my environmental concepts.

9 responses to “go play outside

  1. Good for you! One of these days I’m gonna get me a portable painting device. What are you using and how do you like it?

    This came out nice, btw. I’ve found that even painting from photos of landscapes has seriously improved my environments. I need to do more character studies!

    • hey guys, I basically followed shaddy’s thread over at CA (link) my setup is the same except for the umbrella, which I havent been able to find a good solution for yet….those clamps and tripods are a bit hard to find, might have to order online. Anyways, check out that thread to see examples by someone who actually knows what they’re doing.

  2. Hey, I’ve been following your blog for a little while now (probably the best art blog I’ve seen on wordpress so far) and I’ve been enjoying your work.
    thanks, cheers

  3. This is great man! Way to go getting outside in the outdoors, its such a different experience, and almost harder in a sense, dealing with all the elements. Keep these up, I am sure they will improve your enviro’s! Although, your enviro’s already rock! :)

Leave a Reply

